top2boxartSince Destiny’s debut in September 2014, with pre-release and first day orders exceeding $500 million dollars worldwide, it was clear to see that Bungie’s unique and new franchise, Destiny, was destined for success. Selling a whopping 6.3 million units in its first month of release, and with over 20 million registered players, Destiny has become one of the most successful new game franchises of all time.

When Bungie confirmed that a new large expansion to the Destiny saga was in the works earlier this year, my heart started to flutter with excitement. You see, I’ve been a long-time fan of Bungie since Halo on the Xbox, and I’ve fallen head over heels in love with the Destiny universe. We got a glimpse of Rise of Iron, the newest expansion, in early June and let me tell you it sure did make the hair stand up on the back of my neck. Now you can have the ultimate Destiny experience with Destiny: The Collection on the Xbox One, and PlayStation 4.

Game Details

Platform: PlayStation 4, Xbox One
Release Date: September 20, 2016
Developer: Bungie
Publisher: Activision
Genre: Action role-playing game, first-person shooter
Modes: 1-16 players online
ESRB Rating: T (Teen)

What’s Destiny: The Collection about, and who are the new faction of Fallen?

Destiny: The Collection comes with the original game, all three previous expansions—The Dark Below, House of Wolves, The Taken King—and the brand new expansion, Rise of Iron. If you have not had a chance yet to play Destiny, or missed some of the other expansions, Destiny: The Collection is perfect for those new to the franchise and those whom have played previous content.

Having played the original game and all three expansions, I can tell you that Destiny: The Collection is filled with non-stop action that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The latest content, Rise of Iron, is the fourth expansion of Destiny. Featuring five action-packed story missions, it centres on the Fallen, as they have breached the Wall that surrounds Earth’s last safe city along the southern border of Old Russia.

Under the command of Lord Saladin, the last known remaining Iron Lord, you journey into The Plaguelands. Here you discover and fight a new faction of Fallen Devils, the Splicers, while you try to put a stop to the growing threat and unravel the mystery of the Iron Lords. Although, Destiny’s main draw has not always been about its story, there are some nicely designed encounters to play through, which are some of the franchise’s best. While each of these story missions are initially interesting, it was a shame that the majority weren’t developed into something more meaningful in the Destiny universe.


What’s new in Rise of Iron?

Rise of Iron is packed full of content that will keep you entertained for hours on end at a time. There is a new zone on Earth with all new areas to explore, a brand new enemy faction to combat, new activities and patrols, and even more juicy secrets to discover. You can see, I wasn’t kidding when I said that Rise of Iron was packed full of content.

Let’s take a look at this new massive zone called The Plaguelands, which is located near the Cosmodrome. The best way to describe The Plaguelands is a mixture of new and familiar locations on Earth—it’s beautiful. For those that have played Destiny, you will remember that this area has been quarantined for centuries. The pesky new Fallen Devils are up to no good and have discovered a forbidden technology – SIVA – that allows them to transform the region to fit their desires.


There is also a new social space, Felwinter Peak, which in my opinion is the best to be introduced to the franchise thus far. The Iron Temple is the base of the Iron Lords and it sits atop Felwinter Peak. There is a mountain that you can climb, if you are skilled enough—wait until you see the breathtaking views from the top. Better yet, you can also collect new quests and obtain some really sweet new artifacts.

I will have to admit, for me the biggest draw to Rise of Iron for me was the new raid, Wrath of the Machine. This new raid handles things a bit differently than previous raids, and in my opinion, it works quite well. Essentially, Wrath of the Machine is one huge fight after another, and it is really fun to play. While it may not be the longest raid in the Destiny franchise, it was definitely one of the most engaging. The fights are well thought out, and wait until you see the weapons you get for completing it—they are definitely worth the fight. Did I mention that the Gjallarhorn, the legendary rocket launcher, makes a return? Oh yeah! Check out footage of Destiny‘s new raid.

Additional new features include new and updated strikes, a new private match feature, a new PvP mode called Supremacy, and three new PvP maps. Now that’s a lot of new features!

The benefits of dropping support for older consoles

Destiny: The Collection and specifically Rise of Iron, is the first Destiny content that is exclusive to PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. So what does this mean for current-gen gamers like you and I? Well for starters, Bungie can now include visual effects and features that they couldn’t squeeze onto the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.

Additionally, the lobby size has been bumped up from 12 to 16 players, and the number of quality of visual effects have been increased. Wait until you check out the snow effects in Rise of Iron. Although nothing has been confirmed as of yet, the door has been left open for PlayStation 4 Pro support. Can you imagine what they could do with the added power of the PlayStation 4 Pro? Mindboggling!


PlayStation exclusive content

PlayStation 4 owners are again this year in for a special treat, Destiny: The Collection contains timed exclusive content that you cannot currently play on the Xbox One. PlayStation owners will get an exclusive quest, ship, and a PvP map. I absolutely adored Icarus, a mid-sized map that you can play in any 6v6 game mode. This map contains a quick path through the centre of the map, but you have to act fast, as the main chamber doors are closing—act quickly if you are going to survive.

ps exclusives

Final Thoughts

Destiny: The Collection is by far the best version of Destiny to date. It offers a deeper and more engaging experience than ever before, and has enough new features to keep the most avid gamer busy for weeks and months to come. Coupled with new enemies, game modes, multiplayer maps, and a plethora of new quests—it’s clear to see why Destiny: The Collection is one of the best compilations released this year.

+ Solid story and the SIVA virus is an interesting enemy
+ The new raid is challenging and exciting
+ The same great gameplay Destiny fans know and love
+ Excellent new multiplayer maps

– Not as much content in Rise of Iron as The Taken King


Gameplay: 4/5
Graphics: 4/5
Sound: 4/5
Lasting Appeal/Replayability: 4/5

Overall Rating  4/5 (80%)

Get Destiny: The Collection for PlayStation 4
Get Destiny: The Collection for Xbox One

Jon Scarr
Jon is the Gaming Editor and is based in Toronto. He is a proud Canadian who has a serious passion for gaming. He is a veteran of the video game and tech industry with over 20 years experience. You can often find Jon streaming the latest games on his YouTube channel. Jon loves to talk about gaming and tech, come say hi and join the conversation with Jon on Threads @4ScarrsGaming and @4Scarrsgaming on Instagram.